Is Whisky Vegan, Kosher or Gluten-Free?
Whether for health, ethical or religious reasons: For many people, it is a matter of the heart to pay attention to the ingredients of the food they eat, or how it was produced. That's why our customers often ask if Whisky contains only three ingredients: grain, and . uses , uses , and Whisky uses rye. Other grains, such as wheat, millet or oats, also serve as Whisky ingredients in some cases. Water is added, of course, to turn the grain into a liquid spirit, and yeast is needed to initiate . We want to know more: Is Whisky considered vegan, gluten-free or kosher?is vegan, or gluten-free, or even kosher. Good question!
Is Whisky Vegan?
The question is not quite so simple to answer. For many, veganism is not only a way of eating but also a way of life that rejects the use of animals and animal products. This applies not only to foods such as meat and dairy products but also to clothing, like those made of leather or wool, as well as cosmetics or medicines with animal content. We now know that water and yeast. If a Whisky should be coloured, then the used caramel is likewise won from , which is grain. Vegan opinions differ on the question of whether yeast is vegan: fungi, to which yeasts belong, have a very complex protein structure that is more similar to that of animals than that of plants. For those who do not reject these fungi, Single Malt Whisky remains vegan. A brief excursion into history shows that this was not always the case: in the past, small amounts of curd soap were more frequently added to the spirit during to prevent the liquid in the still from boiling over. Since curd soap is obtained from soda and lower quality animal fats, in those days animal products were actually found in Whisky! Today, of course, this is no longer the case, as there are stricter requirements for ingredients in Whisky. Just like the interpretation of yeast as vegan or not vegan, the decision of whether products that are treated with pesticides or insecticides during cultivation are considered vegan or not is up to the individual. Every vegan living person decides this for themselves. The deeper we go into the matter, the more questions arise. In view of our world food problem, we should ask ourselves: "Is it allowed to drink Whisky at all?". In addition to organic Whiskies made from organic grains (such as those from Benromach or Bruichladdich), there are also Eco-Whiskies that are produced sustainably and whose has as little impact on the environment as possible. Clearly, there are many aspects to consider with regard to sustainability in . The only question is whether this is worthwhile. The market for vegan Whisky is not particularly large. Only take a look at the overlap between vegans and and you will quickly notice that you are in a niche segment. The original question of whether Whisky is vegan, on the other hand, can be answered with 'yes' from today's perspective (if we disregard the luxury and ethical aspects).consists of only three ingredients: grain,
Is Whisky Gluten-Free?
Our customers ask this question on a regular basis, as celiac disease, or gluten intolerance, is widespread. The disease is an inflammation of the mucous membrane of the small intestine, which can become so severe that food can no longer be digested. This has sometimes dire consequences, as you can imagine, starting with loss of appetite and ending with vomiting and weight loss. Unfortunately, celiac disease is as yet untreatable; sufferers must avoid foods containing gluten in order to avoid symptoms. Basically, gluten is a protein complex, which gives flour mixed with water its doughy texture. Wheat, spelt, rye and durum wheat naturally contain a lot of gluten (around 15%, and even up to 30-35% when moist). Oats and barley, on the other hand, naturally contain less gluten, so there is also less gluten in Single Malt Whisky made from malted barley. There are also naturally gluten-free grains, including millet, corn and rice. Whisky lovers may immediately think of Bourbon. But the contains at least 51% corn, as well as mostly wheat and barley, which are gluten-containing grains. consists of industrial alcohol (mostly wheat) and Whisky. For people with gluten intolerance, Single Malt Whisky is probably the most suitable. In its production process, some gluten is probably lost. In the , the malted barley is and is washed out. What is further processed contains less protein; the remaining proteinaceous ' ' often goes to the agricultural sector as animal feed. Nevertheless, the so-called ' ' is still slightly cloudy, which means it still contains grain residues. During distillation, these solid parts tend to stick to the inside of the . Therefore, the grain residues do not end up in the condensers with the , but are disposed of afterwards with the distillation residues. We can only speculate whether and how much gluten is contained in the final product, . We assume that, based on the previous description, it can no longer be much. In the nutrient information on Whisky bottles, protein is usually even '0'. In the end, it depends on the degree of gluten intolerance. If it is very pronounced, you should look for Whisky that does not contain gluten. If it is not too severe, gluten residues in the Whisky, which are left over from the distillation process should be acceptable. In all probability, Single Malt Whisky made from malted does not contain gluten. However, only a chemical evaluation could provide certainty here.
Is Whisky Kosher?
Let us start by saying that Whisky is by nature a kosher spirit. Depending on the in which it matures, however, this can change. This is because Wine, or also Sherry, is only considered kosher under very specific conditions. Examples of kosher are Glenrothes Alba Reserve or M&H Elements Sherry Cask. For the Glenrothes, no were chosen, but only ex- and the M&H even matured in kosher Sherry casks from Israel. Why is Sherry not kosher? Kosher means safe or pure; in reference to Jewish dietary laws, not only in a hygienic sense, but also in a spiritual sense. In order to make a kosher Wine, winemakers must follow a number of rules: For example, they may not harvest from the vines before the fourth year, just as they may not harvest in the seventh year due to the Sabbath commandment; Organic fertilizers may not be applied a few months before the harvest, because this would bring bacteria into contact with the grapes. There is also a social aspect: one percent of the Wine must be given to those in need free of charge. So there is a lot to keep in mind for kosher Wine! Is kosher Whisky a big issue in the world? 0.4% of the world's population belongs to Judaism, which equates to around 28 million people. How many of those people actually value a kosher lifestyle is unknown. is of interest to only 0.3% of the world's population. If we now calculate an overlap of the two groups, statistically we arrive at 28,000 Jewish Whisky lovers. So there is a market, but it is also very small.