Macallan 18 sherry cask alternative?

• Azzurri81
    Topic creator

Hello everyone. I am new to this wonderful message board and a relatively new whisky lover...enjoying Bourbon the last year and a half and Single Malt's the last 6 months give or take.

My bestman has been a Single Malt enthusiast for several years now and I wanted to get him a special bottle as his bestman gift. I didn't really want to spend anymore than $150, but could possibly go up to a $200 max. I attempted to get some ideas as to what bottles he would purchase if he had an extra $150 or so dollars under the guise of me just getting into Single Malt's and wanting a nice bottle, but he named a plethora of brands and bottles that I couldn't keep up or remember any of them. I know he said he really enjoys sherry cask aged Single Malt's but really isn't that much of a fan of the smokey Single Malt's at this time. He did say that he enjoyed The Macallan 18 sherry cask several years ago so I was thinking of that or something similar.

So, does anyone have a recommendations for Macallan 18 sherry cask alternatives that are similar in taste? I hear Macallan's these days are not as good as they used to be so if that's the case with the 18, I wanted to see what other similar offerings there are?

Thank you in advance.

Marc

• SanctTom Member SanctTom Joined: 19.07.2014Posts: 176Ratings: 0
    Options

Hi Marc and welcome!

If you ask about good sherry cask alternatives you'll (almost) always get the answers Glendronach and Glenfarclas (even though it's been quiet here...:lol:smile:.
    To some extent this is absolutely correct - if good Sherry cask whisky means "heavy sherry influence) to you.