Terrible whisky

• iankahr
    Topic creator
    Member iankahr

Hi folks, I'm new to single malts and to establish a threshold of taste, thought it would be beneficial to try what are generally accepted to be the worst, terrible, awful single malts produced. Could I get a few suggestions?

Thanks in advance,
    John

• Budgerigar_canalis Member Budgerigar_canalis Joined: 18.07.2014Posts: 50Ratings: 0
    Options

I guess one of the universally most despised single malts is the blue NAS (no age statement) Loch Lomond. It's actually not very good, but at that price it's still OK. It's defnitely one of the cheapest single malts on the market, so there's not a lot of bang for your buck, but there's also not a lot of buck. :lol:

In general, most cheap (or even not so cheap) NAS beginners' malts are frowned upon by advanced single malt enthusiasts.

On a more personal note, I would strongly advise against the Bunnahabhain 12 unless you're into exhaust emissions. Only if your daily routine starts with sniffing the exhaust pipe of your vintage car would I recommend this single malt to you. :wink:

And don't buy the Deanston Virgin Oak. It's got a terrible off-flavor that you won't be able to get out of your mouth for hours to come...

iankahrmanchie2 liked that
  • Durning Member Joined: 16.04.2015Posts: 2Ratings: 0
    Options

My absolute least-liked is Springbank 10 Year-old. Hated it. Tasted a bit like the PEG you have to drink before a colonoscopy. Again, just my opinion. A number of my friends really like it, though.

• schnazola Guest, Member schnazola Joined: 16.04.2015Posts: 31CollectionSchnaz's EmptiesRatings: 4
    Options
    I guess one of the universally most despised single malts is the blue NAS (no age statement) Loch Lomond.

Speaking of which . . . .