If money (or time) was no object, what whisky would you drink?

• Hannah_CBTD
    Topic creator

Hi there, I'm new to Whisky.com

I just wondered what are people's favourite whisky?

And similarly but not quite, what would you drink if the cost of the bottle/dram didn't matter?

And if you could rewind time and try any whisky what would it be?

Thanks,

Hannah

• dennislhopkins Member Joined: 13.12.2018Posts: 47Collectiondennislhopkinss CollectionRatings: 20
    Options

@Hannah_CBTD I am very partial to products from Glenfarclas, Glengoyne, and Glenmorangie. I have an open bottle of Glenfarclas 40, still about 1/2 left. I truly love it!!! Glenfarclas 25 is also quite good.  I've also got two bottles of Alexander Murray 1972, one open and one not! I truly enjoy that one as well. While unofficial, there's a lot of consensus that particular Alexander Murray was a Glenfarclas product. Their respective distillery characters are quite similar.  I have a Glengoyne 30 and 25, but unopened. Am waiting for an appropriate moment to open both, like my granddaughter's first steps or something!! I have a Glengoyne 21 open, and it too is delicious. The "oldest" Glenmorangie I own is 18 y/o and is quite delicious. Even if money were no object, I think I'd still focus on the 20-30 year old products. After more than that you're getting more cask character and not distillery character. Not that it's bad, quite contrary. But spending BIG $$$ for heavy oak or sherry influence may not be the best expenditure of money, particularly if you're looking for distillery character. 

Hannah_CBTD liked that
  • TheGreatMothra Member TheGreatMothra Joined: 30.03.2016Posts: 27CollectionRatings: 160
    Options

If i had unlimited funds, I'd be drinking Glengoyne 21, Arran 18 and Glenfarclas 25. While they're not the most expensive answers you might get in this thread, they're enough that they're my go to for special occasiions.

Hannah_CBTD liked that
  • Hannah_CBTD
    Topic creator
    Options