Newbie looking for peaty scotch suggestions

• WhiskeyGimp
    Topic creator
    Joined: 10.03.2019Posts: 3CollectionWhiskeyGimps CollectionRatings: 1

I'm very new to scotch whisky. So far I have only tried johnnie walker black. I really enjoyed the smoky flavor of the whisky. I know that it is a blended whisky but wasn't sure where to post. Now I'm looking to try some other peaty scotch whisky but am unsure what to do get. My budget is around $50.00. After some Internet searches and watching reviews on the site bowmore 12 year looks to be a nice choice. What are some other good choices for somebody new to peaty scotch.

Andy

• dennislhopkins Member Joined: 13.12.2018Posts: 47Collectiondennislhopkinss CollectionRatings: 20
    Options

@WhiskeyGimp - Try a Laphroaig Double Cask. I just did a tasting with my son-in-law yesterday. He's a real "peat" enthusiast. Me not so much. However, the four peats we tasted, the Laphroaig, a Lagavulan, and and two Ardbergs, the Laphroaig was quite exquisite for the price. I paid about $55USD for 750ml. Dark amber color. Softly peated and sweet on the nose. Sweet, spicy, lightly peaty on the palette. Long, lingering finish with notes of light smoke, oak, honey. Quite nice, definitely not overpowering with smoke like some (Taliskers) can be. Just my $0.02 worth. I personally am a Speyside/Highland Sherry Bomb kind of guy, but for a "peaty" this one was good to me!

• WhiskeyGimp
    Topic creator
    Options

@dennislhopkins can you do me a favor and post a link for that Laphroaig. I can't pinpoint that double cask in a internet search

• SanctTom Member SanctTom Joined: 19.07.2014Posts: 176Ratings: 0
    , edited March 12 2019 at 5:54AM
    Options

@WhiskeyGimp @dennislhopkins 

Sounds more like the Laphroaig Quarter Cask to me...

And malt does more than Milton can To justify God's ways to man. (A. E. Housman)
  • dennislhopkins Member Joined: 13.12.2018Posts: 47Collectiondennislhopkinss CollectionRatings: 20
    Options