Your choice of REGULAR whisky?

• Hung_Pham
    Topic creator
    Member Hung_Pham

Hi all,

I am relatively new to Scotch, but I've tried quite a few different ones for the past 2 years.  For a while, Lagavulan 16 was my regular, but i've gradually tried some new non-peated whisky. I went from Lagavulan 16 to Glenlivet 15/18 and now my regular is the Maccalan 12 Sherry Oak.

What is your regular for this fall/winter so far?

[img]https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7314/27109558506_94881b3097_o.jpg[/img]

• Andyvans Member Andyvans Joined: 26.07.2015Posts: 34CollectionAndyvanss CollectionRatings: 4
    Options

Even though I turned to bourbons this winter, my most regular scotch earlier this year was Tomatin 12. Don’t know why I chose it over more expensive options in my bar, but I just liked it a lot. My second choice was Nikka from the Barrel. Interestingly, the first one is chill filtered, the second one is blended, and now bourbons!? Something is not right here :redface:

• SSGN_Doc Member Joined: 26.05.2018Posts: 7Ratings: 0
    Options

@Andyvans 

Glenmorrangie was where my Scotch journey began.  So, I find I go back to it frequently.  I like their 18 year single select malt for special occasions.  Their La Santa gets similar flavor notes but not quite as deep or rich.  It’s also cheaper but, like the 18 year it gets finish aged in Sherry casks.

Glenlivet is another I enjoy, along with Balvinne and Glenfiddich.

Ardbeg and Lagavulin are the Islay whiskies I tend to stick with.

• Peloquin Member Joined: 10.08.2018Posts: 7CollectionPeloquins CollectionRatings: 0
    Options

I love Loch Lomond 12 and make sure there it's always some in. The Wife got me a bottle of Glen Scotia Victoriana and that is one of the best I've tried but at £84 a bottle in my local shop it's a bit steep for a daily drinker.

• TheGreatMothra Member TheGreatMothra Joined: 30.03.2016Posts: 27CollectionRatings: 160
    Options