Where to start

• moxnix22
    Topic creator

I recently have started to drink scotch and would like to try a single malt and was looking for a suggestion. My background is that I first tried scotch about a year ago on a trip where I mixed Johnny walker blue with coke not knowing it was expensive and it was quickly explained I had done something very wrong despite the fact it’s probably the best tasting whiskey and coke I had ever had XD. I got to retry and found it incredible compared to any other liquor I had tasted before. I had never really been a beer or wine drinker and mostly been a jack and coke guy until trying scotch. Over the last year I have been buying blended scotch whiskey at my local liquor store to see which ones I liked best. I tried dewars 12 walker red black double black gold Chivas Cutty Sark and a few other and have fallen in love. I pretty much only drink scotch now and I want to try some of the single malts.  Of the ones I have tried I prefer walker black / double black and really enjoy the Smokey flavor. With some cursory google and YouTube work I have read up on a few but was surprised to find the “Smokey” rating on the walker I really like at a 2 when others go as high as 5. I know that’s the part I like the best but after watching a few YouTube videos  I’m torn as the guys I saw on whiskey vault  do not recommend going with Islay whiskey as a noobie drink but at he same time I love the smoke. What’s a good single malt that will up the smoke compared to walker under 100$ that you think I might like? Is it really important it come from islay? Would one of the ones rated at smoke 3 from places like skye be bettter to go at first? Help me out! Thanks

• SanctTom Member SanctTom Joined: 19.07.2014Posts: 176Ratings: 0
    Options