New to whisky appreciation need recommendations

• Nathan85
    Topic creator
    Joined: 20.10.2018Posts: 1CollectionNathan85s CollectionRatings: 0

Hi all i am new to tasting different whiskys at the moment so far i tasted glenfiddich 12,15 strathisla 12, highland park 12, bushmills 10 and original,and johnny walker black,so far i am looking for a whisky like glenfiddich 12 or 15 but with the campfire smoke any recommendations thanks.

DramTasticVoyage liked that
  • DramTasticVoyage Member DramTasticVoyage Joined: 09.04.2018Posts: 205CollectionDramTasticVoyages CollectionRatings: 4
    Options

@Nathan85 Welcome aboard! You have a well rounded start up collection so far! I have a few recommendations for you based off of what you've mentioned.

IRISH:

Redbreast 12 year (or 15, or 21 if you want to shell out the big bucks). -Redbreast is a quintessential single pot still irish whiskey. Sherry influence and strong notes of butter cookies. Delicious!

Powers Signature Release- Very similar to the Redbreast. Made in the same distillery in fact. Its not aged for 12 years, but it is better in some ways. Its non-chill filtered and bottled at 46%. And its cheaper by a good bit. I actually prefer this to the Redbreast.

Jameson Caskmates Stout Edition- This one is cheap and always easy to find. This is AMAZING whiskey! One sip and you'll be convinced it should probably cost more than it does. Very heavy pot still influence without the pot still price tag. Hands down one of the best value for money Irish whiskeys on the market. 

SCOTCH:

Johnnie Walker Double Black- If you like the standard black, you'll absolutely love the double black. It is campfire smoke in a bottle. It is also very sweet. I actually prefer this one on the rocks. The flavor opens up quite nicely when poured over some ice.