Where to start? Recommend some single malts, please.

• Jason.A
    Topic creator

Short: 

Initial Single Malt preference: Glenfiddich 15 and Aberlour 12

Newer preference: Ardbeg 10

Goal of this post: 

A) to introduce myself

B) to get a few recommendations of other Single Malts under $50 to buy

I am not new to Scotch, but I am new to trying to take my Scotch drinking seriously. 

My first alcoholic drink was Scotch, based on what my father drank. In college I dabbled with buying bottles when I could afford it. I was always a Glenfiddich (12) fan, which I bought more than anything else. But when I really fell in love it was with the 15 year Glenfiddich Solera and the 12 Year Aberlour. 

For several years after college while starting a career and money being a bit tighter, I turned away from Single Malts and drank mostly blended Canadian whiskies. My drink of choice was Canadian Club with ginger ale. 

Well, now I'm back. A full grown adult with a career and, maybe, around $500 I could afford to spend buying Single Malt Scotches during the course of a calendar year without feeling any bit of guilt whatsoever. (Read: being able to max out retirement, savings, and other more important expenses first).

Over the last several months I was fortunate enough to take a transAtlantic trip to Scotland and try many different single malts. Strangely enough, my initial preference for slightly sweeter, fruity Scotches was transformed on this trip. I found that the most enjoyable new Scotch I tried was Ardbeg! The smokiness was such a different experience for me. 

On the return trip, I purchased a Glenfiddich Select Cask (blue bottle, 1 liter instead of 750ml) on impulse at the airport because it was cheap and, after tasting it, reminded me a bit of the Glenfiddich 15s I used to buy but with a bit more of a redwine smell that was enjoyable.

Today, my cupboard consists of: Ardbeg 10, Glenfiddich Select Cask, and Glenmorangie 10.