Hello from Illinois, USA

• Aj_Reny
    Topic creator
    Joined: 24.10.2017Posts: 21CollectionAj_Renys CollectionRatings: 0

I would like to say hello and to give a small introduction. 

My name is Andrew I am from a small town in the state of Illinois, about 20 miles north of the site of the old Hiram Walker distillery. 

I am not new to drinking whisky/whiskey, but I am new to actually tasting and savoring it. (I was unaware in my 20s of what I was missing). 

Current favorites are Auchentoshan 12 year, and Glenfiddich 12. 

While I do like Glenmorangie 10, I feel like I couldn't dislike it so I don't put it on the list.

I just purchased a bottle of Talisker 10. I have sampled some small bottles of Ledaig 10 and Tobermory and liked them, but when I came across a bottle of Talisker 10 750ml for $35 USD I grabbed it. Because it typically runs $75-85 USD for 750ml I figure if it is not to my taste i am not out the full price.

Well, that's is some about me, I hope to learn much from here.

Thank you for reading.

• Vasco Guest, Member Vasco Joined: 14.05.2017Posts: 86CollectionVasco's Closed Bottles CollectionRatings: 4
    Options

@Aj_Reny 

Welcome to the forum!

Sláinte!

• bedlamborn Member bedlamborn Joined: 18.09.2016Posts: 611Collectionbedlamborns CollectionRatings: 21
  • Aj_Reny
    Topic creator
    Options

Well, I tasted the Talisker 10 last night, and it is quite a wonderful drink.

I was skeptical as some have described it as a peppery finish, but it wasn't as biting as I thought it would be. I believe I will have another after work tonight and save my Auchentoshan 12 for the weekend.

• bedlamborn Member bedlamborn Joined: 18.09.2016Posts: 611Collectionbedlamborns CollectionRatings: 21
    Options

@Aj_Reny 

Talisker is almost the perfect dram for me. Just the right bit of smoke and has a good complexity. There are several other good Taliskers around.

• Highlander_2 Member Joined: 31.08.2017Posts: 168Ratings: 0
    Options