Hello from South Africa!

• MarkTC
    Topic creator
    , edited December 6 2017 at 10:51AM

Hello there, I'm Mark from Cape Town, South Africa. Been watching a lot of Horst's videos on YouTube and learning a lot about Whisky. I generally enjoy craft beer, but I'm now a bit hooked to learning about Whisky ever since bumping into Whisky.com on YouTube.

I'm very new to the Whisky world and have only had Glenfiddich 12YO Special Reserve and Jack Daniel's Old No7 some years back. I remember mixing it with coke and stuff, but I'm over that now:biggrin:

I've recently bought a bottle of Jack Daniels Single Barrel Select (47% ABV) and I'm enjoying it very much. Looking forward to learning more and getting suggestions from you all. I'm thinking my next bottle would be a peaty Whisky (Laphroaig Select/10?), I remember tasting one (forgot the name) at a friends' house.

Thanks.

• Vasco Guest, Member Vasco Joined: 14.05.2017Posts: 86CollectionVasco's Closed Bottles CollectionRatings: 4
    Options

@MarkTC 

Welcome to the forum!

Peaty whiskies are my favourite ones, specially with a hint of sherry, port, or madeira wine sweetness. For a start, both of your choices (10Y and Select) are good ones, maybe I would add some more like Talisker 10, Lagavulin 16, and Bowmore 12.

There are also some non-Islay peaty scotch whiskies, Highland and Speyside ones, that you can try in a stage two. :smile:

Regards,

Vasco

• MarkTC
    Topic creator
    Options

@Vasco 

Thanks for the welcome, I will definitely check out your suggestions and we'll see how it goes.

Regards,

Mark

• bedlamborn Member bedlamborn Joined: 18.09.2016Posts: 611Collectionbedlamborns CollectionRatings: 21
    Options

@MarkTC 

For Laphroaig I would go with the ten year old and stay away from the Select. talisker ten is also one that I like but not a whisky for newcomers.

• MarkTC
    Topic creator
    Options

@bedlamborn 

Thanks for the suggestion. Will try to get the Laphroaig 10YO or Talisker 10YO.