Bowmore 15 Golden & Elegant, others whisky similar to it? Recommendation?

• Chawit_Ongcharit
    Topic creator
    Joined: 16.10.2017Posts: 12CollectionChawit's CollectionRatings: 1

Recently I bought the travel retail exclusive Bowmore 15 Golden and Elegant, and enjoyed it much more than expected.
    Im a novice whisky drinker mind you.

I had so far tried:

Balvenie 12 tripple cask

Balvenie 16 tripple cask

Bowmore 15 golden and elegant

JW black

Monkey Shoulder

I like the 2 balvenies. Monkey Shoulder is just sweet and nothing much more than that for me, boring.

I actually really like the Bowmore, and it tempts me to try more smoky whisky, so Im curious where does it sit on the smokiness scale?

Im looking to try maybe Ardbeg 10 and Lagavulin 16, maybe Laphroaig and others Bowmore as well. So if you compare this Bowmore to the other whiskys, how would you describe it?

While Im at it, what do people think about Bowmore 15 Golden and Elegant? Couldnt find much reviews going around the internet.

• hwchoy Member hwchoy Joined: 28.07.2015Posts: 462CollectionHeng Wah’s CollectionRatings: 3
    Options

@Chawit_Ongcharit 

since you're passing through the airport and already tried the Bowmore 15, why not extend it with the Bowmore 18 which got excellent review from @horst_s .

I am quite immune to peat, but I have so far enjoyed the Laphroaig 18, PX cask, Quarter cask, 21 FoL, Bowmore Black Rock, and Ardbeg Supernova. I'm now looking for an excuse to open the Bowmore 18 or the Talisker 18.

bedlamborn liked that
  • hwchoy Member hwchoy Joined: 28.07.2015Posts: 462CollectionHeng Wah’s CollectionRatings: 3
    Options

@Chawit_Ongcharit 

oh if you could find it at your airport, look out for Bowmore 10 years old "Inspired by the Devil's Cask".  it's smoky and sweet, full bodied, and very affordable.

bedlamborn liked that
  • Chawit_Ongcharit
    Topic creator
    Options