Newb Here!

• bdam123
    Topic creator

Hey guys,

My name is Brian and I'm new to this forum and the world of bourbon. I've taken up an interest lately after my cousin suggested that if I bring drinks for the holidays, it should be bourbon.

My initiation was split between a bottle of Eagle Rare 10 Year and a bottle of Woodward Reserve Double Oak. I enjoyed both with a splash of water, which I liked because it smoothed the flavor out more. I tried my best to identify what I could in the taste but it was fleeting at best. But the overall experience was very very enjoyable.

I started doing a little bit of reading and found out that some of these bottles can fetch up to a few grand and even tens of thousands of dollars. 

I want to start getting into the more sophisticated stuff and maybe work my way up to some of these bottles that are going to 2-3k, eventually.

Like I said, I'm a complete newb. 

1) What are some suggestions you guys can make for the very beginner as far as easily obtainable bourbons are concerned?

2) Any tips to help enhance my drinking experience?

3) Do you guys ever sit down with a few different bottles and do things like blind taste test and such?

Thanks for the consideration.

• [Deleted User] Joined: 26.08.2016Posts: 0CollectionEmpty Bottle ClubRatings: 160
    Options

@bdam123

Welcome to the world of bourbon! I have pasted in your questions below with some recommendations:

1) What are some suggestions you guys can make for the very beginner as far as easily obtainable bourbons are concerned?

a) Try bourbons from all of the major distilleries to get a feel for what you like. Check out their websites to see the bourbons actually bottled by them and avoid any others until you gain more knowledge and experience.

b) Keep the price point under $50 for a year or so until your palate and personal tastes develop. (I actually would be happy to drink only bourbons that cost $50 or less).