Tips for a non-peaty every day Whisky?

• delarrn
    Topic creator

Hi folks,

I'm new here, so please bear with me- but I'd love to hear your advice.

Looking for a whisky that's mellow enough to drink every other evening, but still holds attention. I'm pretty new to whisky, but thus far have worked out I strongly dislike peat (at least so far) and enjoy whiskies that fall into the sweet, nutty, fruity, spicy, sherry, malty categories. I'm new to whisky so mainly drinking on the rocks. Looking for something that's reasonably priced enough - ie sub £50, preferably sub £40 - to drink on a regular basis.

To start myself off I bought myself a single malt, a bourbon and a Rye:

Aberlour 10 - enjoy this neat, but find it very quickly becomes insipid if taken on the rocks
    Woodford Reserve - think I'll only be using this for cocktails
    Sazarac Rye - really like this, but hard to get hold of (in UK)

The Aberlour 10 and Sazerac I've basically finished now (the Woodford is barely touched). Any tips for what I should go for next?

Cheers!

• [Deleted User] Joined: 26.08.2016Posts: 0CollectionEmpty Bottle ClubRatings: 160
    Options

I have a few recommendations for you:

Isle of Arran 10 Year Old
    Glengoyne 10 Year Old
    Aberfeldy 12 Year Old
    Speyburn 10 Year Old
    Glen Grant 10 or 12 Year Old
    Glenfarclas 12 Year Old
    Glen Moray 12 Year Old
    Rittenhouse Rye
    Bulleit Rye
    Wild Turkey 81 Rye

Have fun discovering new whiskies, and give new ones a fair chance. I am sometimes halfway through with a new-to-me bottle before it really clicks with my palate. (Don't throw in the towel on the Woodford Reserve just yet.:confused:) The more different types of whiskies you try (even if you're not crazy about them at first), the broader your palate will develop.

Clear alcohols are for rich women on diets. (Ron Swanson)
  • kroman Member Joined: 16.04.2016Posts: 261Collectionkromans CollectionRatings: 21
    Options