What bottles to buy

• Vicke2
    Topic creator

Hello im new here.
    I want to invest in some whisky that might be rising in vallue.
    Do you guys have any idea of what is a good investment?
    I found one bottle of glenfiddich 37year botteled 1975 for a good price (i think) in good condition in wooden box.
    There where only 200 made of these so do you think it would be more worth soon? :razz:

Vicke
  • horst_s_2 Administrator horst_s_2 Joined: 01.07.2014Posts: 507Ratings: 661
    Options

Collecting whisky is no easy task. There are a lot of different influences to consider. I therefore wrote two articles about collecting whiskies. Here they are:

Dou You Collect Malt Whisky?
    and
    Do You want to invest in rare Whisky?

Kind regards, Horst Luening, Master Taster, Whisky.com
  • [Deleted User] Joined: 26.08.2016Posts: 0CollectionEmpty Bottle ClubRatings: 160
    , edited September 18 2016 at 2:30PM
    Options

Being a financial professional, I would not invest in whisky unless I approached it as a hobby (i.e. don't expect to make a profit) or as an isolated "fun" speculation. Losing money on a hobby is something most of us do, but losing a portion of my money to the vagueries of the investment whisky market is not something I want to risk. Of course, you can always drink the whisky if it doesn't earn you the return you expected, which puts it a step ahead of other failed investments. :smile:

Clear alcohols are for rich women on diets. (Ron Swanson)
  • Vicke2
    Topic creator
    , edited September 26 2016 at 8:49AM
    Options

Thank you horst_s and Carlton for good advices.
    I think i wont buy much for investment but more like a hobby then and hopefully i will return a little and enjoy some of it :lol:

Vicke
  • cato Member cato Joined: 11.11.2016Posts: 6Collectioncato's CollectionRatings: 6
    , edited November 11 2016 at 6:59PM
    Options

@Vicke2