Favorite American Whiskey?

• DrBourbon Member Joined: 29.01.2015Posts: 2Ratings: 2
    Options

If you don't like bourbon then this is probably not the section of the forum for you; but if you do and you have questions, I have some knowledge and access to almost 100 bourbons. Happy to do a taste if I haven't already done it. I am not a professional; but I am studying bourbon and learning to put words to the nose, mouth feel, taste, and finish. My favorite is Pappy Van Winkle 23 yr old. I tried not to like it; because of all the hype and the extreme difficulty of purchasing a bottle. But I have tried it in bars multiple times in direct comparison flights to other super premium whiskeys and I actually do really like it. Since it's so hard to get, I also have many readily available nicely priced bourbons that are very pleasant, very delicious and very nice drams.
    I'm new to the forum. I'm a bourbon and Absinthe drinker with a few Scotches. But I also like many mixed drinks and any well made spirit. I drink only about 1 - 1.5 oz. in a night and routinely do tastings of 1/2 oz. of 2 different bourbons. I never drink and drive and rarely do tastings on consecutive days. Responsible drinking, responsibility in life.
    Glad to be in the forum. I really enjoy Horst Luening's reviews. Also really enjoy ralfy stuff on you tube.
    Let's talk about bourbon.

Brad69Reza_Lust2 liked that
  • ADramGoodDrink Member Joined: 15.01.2015Posts: 4CollectionWhat's on My ShelfRatings: 0
    Options
    "Budgerigar_canalis" wrote:
    I don't like bourbon that much because I don't like the taste of corn in whisky. The only bourbon I've liked so far (I've tried about 6 or 7) was the Elijah Craig 12 y.o.

Last week I tried two Canadian whiskies and I liked them a lot better than bourbon. So when it comes to North America, what I wanna try in the future are more Canadian whiskies and rye whiskeys from the U.S. with only a small corn content.