What do you recommend for a newbie collection?

Topic creator
    Member 116520
    Joined: 12.06.2015Posts: 90Collection116520s CollectionRatings: 42

Hi! I am a newbie and if I have around £200 extra cash for a bottle of whisky adding to my collection, what do you recommend? The whisky has to be something special and is worth keeping for a long time and only to be opened for a special occasion. Or £200 is not enough?

Thank you.

• Budgerigar_canalis Member Budgerigar_canalis Joined: 18.07.2014Posts: 50Ratings: 0
    Options
    "116520" wrote:
    Hi! I am a newbie and if I have around £200 extra cash for a bottle of whisky adding to my collection, what do you recommend? The whisky has to be something special and is worth keeping for a long time and only to be opened for a special occasion. Or £200 is not enough?

Thank you.

I saw that you have several Japanese whiskies. You might want to try to get your hand on one of the older versions if you can still get them.
    All the Nikka whiskies with age statements are going away. http://www.nonjatta.com/2015/06/The-Nikka-Shock.html

You said you liked peat smoke... well, then I would try to get a hand on one of the Octomores with a finish. They are all very limited so it's definitely something special. Or the Ardbeg Supernova 2009 (the peatiest whisky I've ever tried) or 2010 (a tiny bit less peaty but sweeter).

Otherwise I would recommend having a look at the independent bottlers. Maybe you'll find a vintage bottle from your year of birth? Or from any other significant day in your past... A lot of people try to get such a bottle with a "personal relation".

Topic creator
    Member 116520
    Options
    "Budgerigar_canalis" wrote:
    I saw that you have several Japanese whiskies. You might want to try to get your hand on one of the older versions if you can still get them.
    All the Nikka whiskies with age statements are going away. http://www.nonjatta.com/2015/06/The-Nikka-Shock.html