Is Ardbeg 10yo as good as it used to be?

• SuperDrams
    Topic creator

I've been sipping single malt for about 16 years. Over that time I have had a few bottles of Ardbeg 10. Last month I received a bottle from my brother as a birthday present. I am not enjoying it as much as I used to. The aroma promises more than the taste delivers.

Does anyone else find this?

No logo on the foam!
  • horst_s_2 Administrator horst_s_2 Joined: 01.07.2014Posts: 507Ratings: 661
    Options

I often receive these questions. The main problem is your experiences between the two tastings of a particular bottle.

Several years ago an Ardbeg TEN or a Lagavulin 16 years were outstanding drams in comparison to the then available alternatives. In the passed years a lot of excellent competitiors arrived and we were able to taste them all. returning to an Ardbeg TEN is no longer an epiphany as years before. Without any changes it is just another good dram.

It is our grown experience which makes an Ardbeg TEN less extraordinary than before.

Kind regards, Horst Luening, Master Taster, Whisky.com
    hwchoyschnazola2 liked that
  • SanctTom Member SanctTom Joined: 19.07.2014Posts: 176Ratings: 0
    Options

I think Horst's view ist just one way of seeing (and experiencing) this.
    Of course there is an enormous difference in the range of malts available now and then as well as a development in the personal experience and taste.
    The other way to see this is by just comparing recent editions of the same whisky to earlier bottlings head to head (or dram to dram :biggrin:) - Ardbeg with its Ten, Uigedail and Corryvreckan are particular good examples for this. While they are still very enjoyable, Ardbegs recent batches seen to lack some of the surprising complexity and depth they had to offer a few years before. The earlier batches are real stunners for their age and in direct comparison to their offspring offer way more.
    So yes - I do see it like you do, SuperDrams!