30 Year Old Whisky

• Glenben_2
    Topic creator
    Member Glenben_2
    Joined: 02.10.2015Posts: 15CollectionBen's Whisky CollectionRatings: 1

Hello everyone. I have been enjoying your posts for several months now and want to say thank you to everyone for sharing such helpful knowledge and insight on the topic of single malt whisky!

I am interested in purchasing a bottle of 30 Year Old whisky (preferably from Scotland) to commemorate my 30th birthday next month. This particular bottle will be something that I would like to have in my collection for several years, even a decade or more, and enjoy solely at celebratory occasions with family and friends. It will not remain sealed and it is not to be viewed as an "investment" in any way. It will only be enjoyed by myself and those who share a mutual appreciation for good whisky! I would like to spend no less that $1,000 USD.

For those of you who have had the opportunity to taste 30 year old whisky, is there a particular bottle that you would recommend? If so, would you be kind enough to elaborate on why?

I understand that personal taste preference is a major factor. Personally, I have been able to find enjoyment in almost every scotch whisky I have come across from the heavily sherried A'bunadh from Aberlour to the Octomore range from Bruichladdich. Yes, there are some whiskies I consider to be "a personal favorite" but for the purpose of this purchase, I am open to anything!

Some bottles I am considering:

-Balvenie 30
    -Highland Park 30 (Horst, I really enjoyed your YouTube review of this one!)
    -Talisker 30
    -Caol Ila 30
    -Glenfiddich 30

I realize that in many instances, the evolution of flavor and character in whisky is somewhat negligible after 21-25 years. The age of this particular bottle is intended to be symbolic but if any of you prefer the 25 Year expression of these malts or any other for that matter, I am open to hearing your input.

Thank you in advance for your help!