Tasting suggestions

• Absorber
    Topic creator
    , edited November 11 2015 at 9:21PM

I know there are already tons of topics here related to asking an advice regarding which whisky to choose and I'm sorry for not breaking this sad trend of creating new ones over and over :smile:

But I do really need an advice.

I've been exploring the world of whisky for 2 years now and I must admit that I've come to a dead end of some kind. I've tasted ~70-80 different whiskys and I can easily name my favourites (and least favourite ones as well) but from some point I haven't tasted anything I'd love for a long time now. It takes me too many tries to find something I would call "worth trying once again", most of recent experiences were a disappointment. I stop recognizing advantages of the whisky I taste and I have to take a break, have a bottle of one of my favourites over a week and then I can continue searching after "remembering" what I really like.

But the thing is I really want to find something NEW that I would like. So to make it easier for you to help, I'll provide a list of what I enjoyed most and least. I really really hope you'll be able to help. Oh, and by the way, I would appreciate it if you would suggest ones which are not more expensive than ~80-100eur. Thank you.

My favourites:

Single Malt:

The Glenlivet 15YO French Oak
    Scapa 16YO
    Lagavulin 16YO
    Aberlour 16YO Double Cask (with water)

Blended:
    Jameson Rarest Vintage
    Chivas Regal 18YO
    Jameson Gold Reserve
    Passport Scotch (yes, it's very cheap but it's my favourite in its price niche)

The ones I did not enjoy at all:
    Single Malt:
    Glenfiddich 12YO and that's all. Most single malts just don't attract my attention but I can't say they had a terrible taste.

Blended:
    Nearly everything, I'll name the ones which I call rubbish without any remorse (please don't be offended if you like them):
    Dewars 12YO
    Johnny Walker Black Label
    Ballantine's 12YO