Ardbeg Uigeadail 2015 batches?

• maltmaven
    Topic creator
    Member maltmaven

Anyone have any experience with the 2015 batch releases? I like the March 25 Ardbeg 10 but I am unfamiliar with any Uigeadails for this past year. I really liked a 2011 that I opened recently. I had been saving it. And I have a 2007 bottling as well. But I am always curious about new bottles to put in the bunker, hence my question about the 2015 releases.

mm
  • horst_s_2 Administrator horst_s_2 Joined: 01.07.2014Posts: 507Ratings: 661
    Options

Sorry, I have no experience with this particular bottling. But I had some Ardbeg Uigeadail in the past. Yes, there are differences but from my point of view these differences are not so severe, that I would not buy a bottle or would chase down a special vintage.

Kind regards, Horst Luening, Master Taster, Whisky.com
  • maltmaven
    Topic creator
    Member maltmaven
    , edited March 23 2016 at 5:07PM
    Options

Thank you for your prompt and intelligent reply, Horst. With all due respect, the batch variation is significant enough for me to determine whether I purchase Uigeadail. In this regard, I do speak from experience.

In 2013, I purchased a batch that was so bad it put me off to Uigeadail for some time afterwards. This subject has been discussed from time to time on Connosor. Here are a few links: http://www.connosr.com/wall/discussion/316152/ardbeg-uigeadail-batch-notes/
    http://www.connosr.com/wall/discussion/259393/know-a-good-ardbeg-uigeadail-batch-number/
    http://www.connosr.com/reviews/ardbeg/ardbeg-uigeadail/l13-149-03-36-6ml/

Nock, a member of Connosr, is quite knowledgeable to the point of almost being obsessed with Ardbeg Uigeadail and Ardbeg 10 batch variation. There is a reason for his obsession. He has purchased many many dozen bottles of Ardbeg over the years, and his senses are acute and discerning.