Thinking about buying a whisky

• NorenS
    Topic creator

I'm thinking about buying myself a single malt, but I'm completely stumped on what to get. I'm relatively new to scotch whisky - the only bottles I've tried have been Finlaggan Old Reserve, Highland Park 12, and Glenmorangie Quinta Ruban. I've loved every single one.

Here are some of the options I'm considering:
    Ardbeg 10 - $100
    Glenfarclas 17 - $115
    Springbank 10 - $100

Any help is appreciated!:biggrin:

• horst_s_2 Administrator horst_s_2 Joined: 01.07.2014Posts: 507Ratings: 661
    Options

The prices are quite steep. I hope they are not in US$.

All three are wonderfull whiskies. Please note that the Springbank is slightly peaty and the Ardbeg has a distinct smoky note.

I think those three are all worth a try and I would make my decision depended on the amount of desired smoke.

Kind regards, Horst Luening, Master Taster, Whisky.com
  • NorenS
    Topic creator
    , edited March 7 2016 at 10:14AM
    Options

Thank you for the reply Horst! I'm unfortunately in Canada where prices for whisky are utterly terrible. :frown:

I think I'll go for the Springbank based on the slight peat you say it has. Very excited to try it!

• pasvraiment Member pasvraiment Joined: 05.11.2015Posts: 26Collectionpasvraiments CollectionRatings: 0
    Options

Yes.. Canadian prices...
    Why start with 100$ scotch? HP12, Bunna12... All near 80$ and good introduction. Ardeg10 for a first scotch seems intense. Glenfarclas, why not the 12 ou 15? Just saying.

• kroman Member Joined: 16.04.2016Posts: 261Collectionkromans CollectionRatings: 21
    Options
    "pasvraiment" wrote:
    Yes.. Canadian prices...
    Why start with 100$ scotch? HP12, Bunna12... All near 80$ and good introduction. Ardeg10 for a first scotch seems intense. Glenfarclas, why not the 12 ou 15? Just saying.