Buying advice

• James_H
    Topic creator
    Joined: 08.10.2014Posts: 24CollectionJames_Hs CollectionRatings: 3

Hi, im travelling to America in the next few days and wanted some advice on which bourbons to bring back. Im looking for 2 or 3 good quality bourbons and dont mind paying up to around $100-$150 for each. Im fairly new to bourbon and as yet have only tried a few.

Thanks.

• Xounlistedxox Member Xounlistedxox Joined: 25.12.2014Posts: 29CollectionMy CollectionRatings: 57
    Options
    "James_H" wrote:
    Hi, im travelling to America in the next few days and wanted some advice on which bourbons to bring back. Im looking for 2 or 3 good quality bourbons and dont mind paying up to around $100-$150 for each. Im fairly new to bourbon and as yet have only tried a few.

Thanks.

Bourbons are not as dynamic as other whisky in my opinion. Elmer T Lee is a really good one if you can find it, Pappy Van Winkle again... If you can find it. My favorite relatively easy to find bourbon is Woodford reserve. Gentleman Jack is a Tennessee whiskey that I find to be grear especially at its decent price point. Blanton's is another good one

• cjustl Member Joined: 05.01.2015Posts: 1CollectionLRatings: 4
    Options

Xounlistedxox gave you some really good options in Elmer T Lee and Pappy Van Winkle (15 yo and 23 yo especially). But again, the problem is they are extremely hard to find. If you find one, buy it! I also agree that for the most part, Bourbons are not as dynamic as Single Malts for the most part - overall they are pretty one note (brown sugar is what usually what immediately comes to mind for me).

For easier to find Bourbons (and significantly less expensive), I recommend the following:
    - Four Roses Single Barrel
    - Blantons
    - Willet
    - Noah's Mill

Enjoy your trip!

• James_H
    Topic creator
    Options

Thanks for the advice, if I see either of those ill grab them quick! I'll let you know how I get on.

J